



July 8, 2024

The Honorable Tom Cole Chairman House Committee on Appropriations U.S. House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515 The Honorable Rosa DeLauro Ranking Member House Committee on Appropriations U.S. House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

## Chairman Cole and Ranking Member DeLauro:

On behalf of our nation's farmers and ranchers, and the indispensable employees who work alongside them, I write to offer my organization's strong support for the current provisions within the FY2025 Labor-HHS-Education package related to the Adverse Effect Wage Rate and recent U.S. Department of Labor rulemakings. AFBF urges its adoption to provide the necessary short-term relief and stability for farmers and farmworkers alike.

America's farmers are at a crisis point when it comes to our labor market challenges. Each passing year that this issue remains unaddressed, more family farms will shut down and more of our agricultural production will move outside our borders. Sadly, this is a trend we are already seeing as USDA's 2022 Census of Agriculture reported a loss of 141,000 farms since 2017. While there is no substitute for the legislative action needed to reform our current immigration system and worker programs, the provisions within the current package will place a critical check on the avalanche of misguided rulemakings in recent years. In the past two years alone, the U.S. Department of Labor has drafted or finalized over 3,000 pages of new regulations affecting our farm families, with more yet to come. The burdens of these new regulations fall squarely on the shoulders of these families, many of whom do not have staff or resources to absorb the subsequent compliance costs.

Specifically, Sections 118 and 119 in this bill will halt recent ill-conceived rulemakings and hasty agency actions that disrupt daily business on the farm, and instead provide stability and certainty in the near term. There is an established bipartisan consensus that supports these requests. The most recent letter to your attention dated May 21 garnered 120 bipartisan members of Congress in support of short-term relief for H-2A employers and their employees. This grew from a similar effort garnering 75 bipartisan signatures in January, and support for this relief continues to swell. For the sake of our American agriculture's economic sustainability, these reforms deserve the committee's attention and support.

Without congressional action in the FY2025 appropriations cycle, family farms will be faced with tough decisions – these family farms and the employees and communities they support could be protected with your leadership. I am certain that, with your help, we can deliver this needed relief to our agricultural sector and rural economies. Please advance these reforms in a final package.

## Sincerely,

Zippy Duvall President

## CC:

The Honorable Harold Rogers
The Honorable Kay Granger
The Honorable Robert Aderholt
The Honorable Robert Aderholt

The Honorable Michael Simpson The Honorable John Carter

The Honorable Ken Calvert

The Honorable Mario Diaz-Balart The Honorable Steve Womack

The Honorable Charles Fleischmann

The Honorable David Joyce
The Honorable Andy Harris
The Honorable Mark Amodei
The Honorable David Valadao
The Honorable Dan Newhouse
The Honorable John Moolenaar
The Honorable John Rutherford

The Honorable Ben Cline

The Honorable Guy Reschenthaler

The Honorable Mike Garcia The Honorable Ashley Hinson The Honorable Tony Gonzales The Honorable Julia Letlow

The Honorable Michael Cloud The Honorable Michael Guest

The Honorable Ryan Zinke

The Honorable Andrew Clyde

The Honorable Jake LaTurner

The Honorable Jerry Carl

The Honorable Stephanie Bice

The Honorable Scott Franklin

The Honorable Jake Ellzey

The Honorable Juan Ciscomani

The Honorable Chuck Edwards

The Honorable Steny Hoyer

The Honorable Marcy Kaptur

The Honorable Sanford Bishop

The Honorable Barbara Lee

The Honorable Betty McCollum

The Honorable Dutch Ruppersberger

The Honorable Debbie Wasserman-Schultz

The Honorable Henry Cuellar

The Honorable Chellie Pingree

The Honorable Mike Quigley

The Honorable Derek Kilmer

The Honorable Matt Cartwright

The Honorable Grace Meng

The Honorable Mark Pocan

The Honorable Pete Aguilar

The Honorable Lois Frankel

The Honorable Bonnie Watson Coleman

The Honorable Norma Torres

The Honorable Ed Case

The Honorable Adriano Espaillat

The Honorable Josh Harder

The Honorable Jennifer Wexton

The Honorable David Trone

The Honorable Lauren Underwood

The Honorable Susie Lee

The Honorable Joseph Morelle